Tuesday, January 24, 2012

Guest Writer

Hi!  Here is the article written by Julia.  I hope you enjoy it:

Gluten intolerance doesn’t mean it’s the end of your world; it doesn’t mean your bread-filled life has to be over. Gluten intolerance or Celiac disease shouldn’t prohibit someone from being able to enjoy foods that would normally have gluten in them. 

There are many companies that produce foods that are gluten free. Grains and starch from sources such as corn, potatoes, rice and tapioca are acceptable replacements for a gluten-free diet. 

Almond and gram flour are two good alternatives and can be used in the same ways that regular flour can. Different types of bean and soybean flours are also sometimes used in gluten-free products to add protein or fiber. 

There are even some gluten-free beers and alcoholic beverages starting to hit the market. These beverages are usually labeled as such, but there is still some controversy over what exactly defines a fully gluten-free alcoholic beverage. 

Gluten can be used in many different ways, so the gluten-intolerant and/or people with Celiac disease must be careful of certain unexpected products. For example, gluten can be used as a stabilizing agent or a thickener in foods like ice cream or ketchup. They should also take into consideration the ingredients of any medications, vitamins or cosmetics, which can sometimes contain traces of wheat or gluten in them.

Gluten-free diets are becoming increasingly popular as more people are becoming diagnosed with gluten intolerance or Celiac disease. There are now even things like gluten-free cake, pizza and gluten free bread makers available for these special dieters. 

There are a lot of unique possibilities with gluten-free diets, and all of these new options can help with them. Bread lovers who are gluten intolerant can finally enjoy delicious and satisfying breads and cakes from their own kitchens.

No comments:

Post a Comment